Harper Sheldon Limited


Restarting a dormant company
11/07/2024

HMRC must be informed when a non-trading or dormant company restarts trading and becomes active for Corporation Tax purposes. Companies can use HMRC Online Services to supply the relevant information. 

When a company has previously traded and then stops it would normally be considered as dormant. A company can stay dormant indefinitely, however, there are costs associated with doing this and certain filings must still be made to Companies House. The costs of restarting a dormant company are typically less than forming a new company. 

The following steps are required:

  1. Tell HMRC that your business has restarted trading by registering for Corporation Tax again.
  2. Send accounts to Companies House within 9 months of your company’s year-end.
  3. Pay any Corporation Tax due within 9 months and 1 day of your company’s year-end.
  4. Send a Company Tax Return - including full statutory accounts - to HMRC within 12 months of your company’s year-end.

Whilst reporting dates for annual returns and accounts should remain the same. The Corporation Tax accounting period is different and is set by reference to when the company restarts business activities.


Contact Us

Harper Sheldon
Midway House, Staverton Technology Park, Herrick Way
Staverton
Gloucestershire
GL51 6TQ

01242 513232

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

www.harpersheldon.com

Membership

  hsl sage    hsl icaew

  hsl qb    hsl xero

hsl free

hsl WH

Newsletter Sign Up

With our newsletter, you automatically receive our latest news by  e-mail and get access to the archive including advanced search options!

Newsletter Sign Up  |  Login

Newsfeed Search


We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.